Is it really possible for us to be forgiving?

Well, I remember when I was in 1st year high school my then favorite teacher said that Christians do the first move.  I can’t actually recall what the topic was about but, I think it is about forgiveness and pride.  (While writing this, I just reminded myself that pride is one of the seven capital sins.)

Since then, I have always tried to be less sensitive and more forgiving.   I have accepted as true that I don’t deserve to be too sensitive since I’m a bit of a big teaser, too.  So, I decided to take the tolerance level a little higher.  I don’t actually get annoyed easily and I don’t get angry that long.  Usually, a tap on the shoulder and a little talk about the situation is okay with me.  Being honest with friends, bridges the gap and it’ll make your relationship closer and longer.

I have live up a principle in life that once I consider you as my friend, I’d tolerate your annoying behavior because I also believe that nobody’s perfect.  I’d be more patient and understanding.  Not only to avoid conflict but because it is the right way.  Some things are meant to be ignored and never to be taken as big deal.

I can even recollect one instance when I let go of a friend’s grave wrong doing because of this so-called belief.  It was fulfilling to be prompted that being humble is a God’s gift.

Others may find it too good to be true.  Others may think that sometimes it is at a fault.  But, believe it or not, I just want to take the higher road.

But I have also breached this belief, too.  As a matter of fact, I was able to treat three people in my life as if they never existed because they’ve hurt me so much.  It wasn’t a very proud moment in my life.  But, there will come a time in our lives when some beliefs will be tested.  And through the goodness of God, I have managed to humble myself and got to forgave them finally.

As a final note, I just want to leave this message.  Always remember this.  You wouldn’t want to subject yourself on one of the capital sins.  Besides, you can’t be too proud to think that you didn’t hurt the other party in one way or another.  Let us learn to forgive and to forget.  Besides these things are controllable, we can always make a choice to do the right thing.

So, is it really possible for us to be forgiving?  My answer is a very resounding yes.  Christians do.

P.S.  This came to my mind when two of my friends at former work had a misunderstanding.  Now the two of them aren’t in speaking terms for the last 4 months.  I drafted this post last December but didn’t had the chance to post it.  I just hope that they’d soon be okay and be friends again.  I just want everyone to be happy.

