Mondays are my movie nights.  I love watching movies.  For me, it is a very relaxing exercise.  And I’m glad that today is Monday.

 

I have a couple of favorite movies like the Star Wars series, Life or Something Like It of Angelina Jolie, Jim Carey and Kate Winslet’s Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind to name a few.

 

Since I am writing about my love for movies, I would be telling you about one of my favorites. And it is the movie, “The Prestige”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve got the chance to watch it again last night and I really loved the Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale team-up.

 

The Prestige’s story tells about like there’s more to it than magic and mystery.

According to the movie, great magic is composed of three parts:

  1. The pledge – the part where the magician shows something that appears ordinary.
  2. The turn – the part where the ordinary becomes extraordinary.
  3. The prestige – which is the greatest ingredient of all, it is where “the twists and turns, and you see something shocking you’ve never seen before”

 

The plot of the movie worked like magic.  It marked a nice lesson on me.  It’s a tale of obsession and revenge that went wrong.  The characters were too busy to overdo each other becoming preoccupied and neglecting what they have become.  Overlooking of what they have lost, relationship, respect, all for exchange of getting “the prestige”.

 

As the Great Danton said in the movie that “The reason for doing the magic is to see the faces of surprise in the audience as they suspend their disbelief for just one moment in a world where everything can appear to be explained.”

 

If it could only be that simple then everything might have been different. 

It’s full of deceit, battle of supremacy, and magic tricks with deadly consequences.

 

You’d feel the struggles and pains of the characters.  I felt for Sarah’s character, when she’d finally had enough.  So I quote this part:

 

Sarah:  I know what you really are.  And Alfred, I can’t live like this.

Alfred:  Oh, you think I can live like this?  You think I bloody enjoy, living like this?  We have a beautiful house, lovely little girl; we’re married, what is wrong with your life?

Sarah:  Alfred I can’t live like this!

Alfred: Well, what do you want from me?

Sarah: I want… I want you to be honest with me.  No tricks, no lies, no secrets. [Pause]

Sarah:  Do you… do you love me?

Alfred:  Not today.  No.

 

At the end of it, you’ll ask yourself, “What is one willing to sacrifice for the prestige?”

Is it really worth to lose everything for it?  At the end of it, will this make you happy?

A very well crafted movie, it’s a nice way to end a busy day.  Five stars!!! Two thumbs up!  Superb!

