I came home late tonight; I attended a baby shower party for Mommy Amy.  Upon arrival at home I ate my dinner and had no choice but to stay up late since I have a full stomach and it’s not safe to sleep.  Glad that I was able to watch “In Good Company” of Topher Grace.

After watching it, I checked my old blog and checked the old post regarding this movie. And voila! I found myself editing it while waiting for a certain TV show.

And here is my new post…

The story was about a young guy, Carter who was at the peak of his career, gets everything materially and financially but his wife left him because he prioritized his career over his family.  And he finds the true meaning of happiness later on.

Watching it made me think about what’s happening with my life at work.  Just this week, I have celebrated my 7th year with my employer.  I have been assigned with 5 different jobs in three different divisions.  And I can honestly say that I am perfectly happy and contented with my career.  I have a very stable job and the pay is good.  But there were years that I really dread and literally drag myself to work.  The worst times were those when you feel that you don’t have a life anymore.  When everything seems to be all work and you don’t enjoy your time for yourself.  You miss special occasions with the family and you lose quality time with them.

I have never believed that going up in the ladder of success will make me happy… or will give me an assurance of being happy.  It’s not the path that I’d like to choose for myself… 
I value family over career…  It’s not wrong to think of providing the best things in life for your family. But, compromising “quality time” with your family is too much for me…

This is what I try to tell my friends.  Set your priorities and learn how to balance well…  Always remember that there’s always a time for everything… it doesn’t have to be all about work.  The time that you lose will be forever gone.  And happiness doesn’t have to be measured through financial aspects or status in the society. 

Because I believe that Happiness is contentment…

…it’s a life of having fun without worrying about anything

…it’s a life free from the material world and all the clutters of the world

…it’s the love that we get from the people that we love

