I love books. I have always dreamed of having a library of my own. Whenever I have free or waiting time, going to the bookstore is an effective killing time for me. But I have one problem, I’m a slow reader actually and I hate it…it’ll take me thousand years to finish a book. Well, one reason is I am a television addict, and I am more of a couch potato than a book buff.

But one of these days, I’d sit back and relax and I’d find my way back to an equal attention between the two medium.

“Sacrifice is part of life. It’s supposed to be. It’s not something to regret. It’s something to aspire to.”

Anyway, this quote is what I’ve loved from “The Five People You Meet in Heaven” by Mitch Albom (writer of Tuesdays with Morrie) and this was mentioned on his second person. I was really struck by his words on sacrifice.

Why? You might wonder why, maybe this is because of (like him) I have made an unintentional sacrifice in the past. And again, I quote from his work… “Sacrifice … You made one, I made one. But you were angry over yours. You kept thinking about what you lost.”

Yeah, this is so true, and the truth is I have blamed myself for losing someone. I have kept something inside of me for a long time for the fear of losing him. I have no intentions at all to tell him. But, someone did it for me and being the person that I am, I made the ultimate sacrifice of confirming the harsh truth. And in the process, I have lost him. And that’s the thing… sometimes, we sacrifice and in the process we lose something precious. I have cried, I have fallen and I regained consciousness and stood up. I was furious with the situation, I felt depressed and devastated. I was desperate…became bitter…I kept too focused on what I’ve lost. Forgetting and neglecting that it’s not worth the effort. Before I know it, I’m already losing myself in the long run.

And then finally, I told myself that I have a life to live and I better pick up the pieces before it can get worse. But still I can’t discount the fact that I should thank him for making me happy. For those days that he has showered joy and color in my barren days, I have to say, he has made my imperfect world perfectly fine. And I have to thank him, too for making it easy for me to let go.

Mitch says that we shouldn’t think of sacrifice as losing something… we should instead put it in this way… “You’re passing it on to someone else”

I have awakened… given up… stood up and finally I have moved on…

