I’ve never been addicted to cigarettes but maybe with coffee especially brewed coffee it is totally addicting.  But this isn’t the reason why I am writing this.  A week ago I have a friend who asked who has been listening to Michelle Featherstone, and I immediately remembered her and her songs from One Tree Hill.  One song has been a part of the soundtrack and the other was played from the episode.  I even have a collection of her songs.

 

So I’m sharing this song “Coffee and Cigarettes” because once in my lifetime I had the same dilemma like this song and it took me sometime to realise that what I needed to do is to quit him.

 

And I quote from Annie Proulx’s Broke back Mountain “There was some open space between what he [Ennis] knew and what he tried to believe, but nothing could be done about it, and if you can’t fix it you’ve got to stand it.”

 

So here I’m sharing a youtube link and some thoughts to ponder on.  Sometimes, we need acceptance to start moving on, and a part of moving on is quitting those addictions.

 

 

 

Coffee and Cigarettes – Michelle Featherstone

I gave up coffee and cigarettes

I hate to say it hasn’t helped me yet

I thought my problems would just dissipate

And all my pain would be in yesterday

 

I poured my booze all down the kitchen drain

And watched my bad habits get flushed away

I thought that that would keep my head on straight

And all my pain would be in yesterday

 

But it’s true

I’m still blue

But I finally know what to do

I must quit, I must quit, you

 

I thought that if I didn’t go and play

The sadness would get bored and go away

I thought that if I didn’t go astray

That all my pain would be in yesterday

 

But it’s true

I’m still blue

But I finally know what to do

I must quit, I must quit, you

 

I sold my guitar and my piano

I thought that it was these that kept me low

I thought if only I could try and change

That all my pain would be in yesterday

 

But it’s true

I’m still blue

But I finally know what to do

I must quit, I must quit, you

 

I must quit, I must quit, you

