chiro_ab_exercise01

 

I never really expected that running will be something that I’d truly enjoy! 

I am not a well disciplined person, too.  Well, I do get up early in the morning on week days because of work.  But the week ends is the only time I try to compensate the whole week’s stress. 

And lately, for the last three weeks I’ve found myself waking up at around 5 in the morning regardless of what time I’ve slept the night before.  Plus, I do actually look forward to week ends not only because of the rest but because it’s the time where I can jog with my parents.

So I got myself thinking last Sunday if the exercise before and after run that I am doing is the prescribed or proper way of doing it.  (FYI, I really find my jog a little awkward and silly.  If you are a FRIENDS fan imagine the episode where Phoebe and Rachel run together, I look like a little like Phoebe minus the hands.  Maybe, I’m just exaggerating or something but I really find myself silly.  But what the heck, that wouldn’t stop from running)

Anyway, I’d just like to share this post from the web where I got all the ideas on the proper way of warming up and cooling down.  Click here for the link.

By the way, tomorrow I’ll try to bring my camera when I jog so I can also share the beautiful sunrise in the morning in our local province of Cavite.  Happy reading!

 

All of your runs should start with a warm-up and end with a cool down. Why are they so important? A good warm-up dilates your blood vessels, ensuring that your muscles are well supplied with oxygen. It also raises your muscles’ temperature for optimal flexibility and efficiency. By slowly raising your heart rate, the warm-up also helps minimize stress on your heart when you start your run.

Just as critical, the cool down keeps the blood flowing throughout the body. Stopping suddenly can cause light-headedness because your heart rate and blood pressure drop rapidly. Winding down slowly allows them to fall gradually.

Difficulty: Easy

Time Required: 5-10 minutes for warm-up; 5-10 minutes for cool down

 

Here’s How:

It’s not a good idea to stretch cold muscles, so don’t start with stretching. Do about 5-10 minutes of light aerobic exercise to loosen up your muscles and warm you up for your run. Try walking briskly, jogging slowly, or cycling on a stationary bike. Make sure you don’t rush your warm-up.

Begin your run. Don’t start out racing, but instead jog slowly and gradually build up your speed.

After you finish your run, cool down by walking or slowly jogging for 5 to 10 minutes.

Stretch fully after your cool down. Your body should be warm and stretching should be easy.

Stretch your lower back, neck, calves, quadriceps, hamstrings and groin area. Hold each stretch for 15 to 30 seconds.

Tips:

Never bounce while stretching. Hold still on each stretch for 15 to 30 seconds.

Perform each stretch one to three times.

A stretch should never feel like you’re hurting yourself. If it hurts, stop that stretch immediately.

