John Mayer’s Battle Studies is one hell of a good album.  I have at least 4 songs that I instantly loved after hearing it once.  It doesn’t have to grow on me because it immediately made its mark on me.

 

And a perfect example to wit is his song, “Perfectly Lonely”.  The lines “Nothing to do… Nowhere to be” is so me.  I’m not saying that I have a very boring life but at times, I feel like I’m so free to a fault.  Yeah, it’s nice to have your schedule free for anything that you like but at times, at least for me, I’d wish that I have something to look forward to doing with someone.

 

I’m perfectly lonely but I feel I’m so loved but not in a romantic way and I have new friends, Helki, Joe, Dru, Noel, Jhun, Stephen, Ron and Jobert to thank for.

 

You see, I have always been surrounded with good friends but unfortunately those set of friends are either too busy with their careers and family life and this year I’ve felt the harsh reality that I ain’t getting any younger or one sign is I’m beginning to become alone while most of them are building lives with their families.

 

Thus, the lines “nothing to do and nowhere to be” went like voila! It’s a perfect match and fit to my so-called boring life.

 

But I’m still hopeful that everything will change this coming year.  I have gone so far this year and I like it.  I’m doing things I never imagined I’d do and I just found myself doing it.  I’m starting to trust someone and now I found myself willing to trust him to break away with me.  I just hope he’d do the same.

 

Anyway, this post wasn’t supposed to expose myself too much, I guess, this is the part where I start to introduce the link and hope that you like it as well.

Had a little love, but I spread it thin
Falling in her arms and out again
Made a bad name for my game around town
Tore up my heart, and shut it down

Nothing to do
Nowhere to be
A simple little kind of free
Nothing to do
No one but me
And that’s all I need

I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me

I see friends around from time to time
When their ladies let them slip away
And when they ask me how I’m doing with mine
This is always what I say

Nothing to do
Nowhere to be
A simple little kind of free
Nothing to do
No one to be
Is it really hard to see

Why I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me

And this is not to say
There never comes a day
I’ll take my chances and start again
And when I look behind
On all my younger times
I have to thank the wrongs that led me to a love so strong

I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely
I’m perfectly lonely (Yeah)
‘Cause I don’t belong to anyone
Nobody belongs to me

(It’s the way, it’s the way, it’s the way that I want it)

 

