Last weekend I was off for a drive and I have decided to put my IPod on shuffle.  I’m not a fan of random stuffs since I want to listen to an organized playlist but I still tried anyway.

Glad that I tried that because while doing so I came across Duncan Sheik’s Genius from the “Daylight” album and reminded me of something that I want right now.

The song simply means when you need to ask for forgiveness to your special someone then do.  If you are sorry and you want to continue everything and don’t want to risk losing everything then what are you waiting for?  Just be sincere and ensure that you won’t do it again. 

And, the geniuses being referred to and mirrored on the contrary are us, poor lovers who can’t seem to know what else to do but to love.

But these lines are sucker,

“You don’t really need to know every last detail.

It’s hardly worth telling

Suffice to say I said that I would be there”

Actually you can have another take on this, like me, (strictly on the lines above only) this is my actual dilemma right now.  I am not asking for too much, I don’t even need to know every little detail I don’t even want to hear that he’ll be there when I need him to.  I don’t need any reassurance but what I want is to feel it that he wants it that way and he’ll just be.  As simple as that but I know it’s something far from what can be done.

Anyway, I’m just sharing this link from MTV Philippines Live, Genius is the 2nd song.  I miss Duncan Sheik I hope I can watch him perform live again and I’m targeting it on May.

 

Clearly I’m a genius

If she only knew it

But somewhere in her radius

I really blew it

I know, I know what I said to her

And I know what I did

What I don’t know is how I could ever be

So incredibly stupid

 

 

Chorus:

 

[You don’t really need to know every last detail.

It’s hardly worth telling

Suffice to say I said that I would be there

I never came through]

 

 

Maybe I’m a genius and

She just don’t see it

I fronted,

I should have admitted,

She saw right through it

I never thought that I could be

So underhanded.

Somehow I’ve cornered the market on

The double standard

 

Chorus

 

For this act of genius

And so many others

I know I should apologize

And see how it goes

 

What am I waiting for?

Come on, come on, come on, come on

 

Sha la la la la la sha la la la la la la la

 

To all of the geniuses…

 Chorus

