This post is long overdue since I’ve first watched the movie last November.  After watching the movie for the first time I know that I can truly relate with it.  Funny thing about this is I think I am Tom and the one that I watched it with is Summer.  In fact, it was our first movie together.

 

But I am not posting this because of the similarities between my relationship with him and the movie but because I learned something from it and I really loved the movie.

Highlights that I have noted from the film are the following:

  • Rachel said this to Tom, “Just because she likes the same bizzaro crap you do doesn’t mean she’s your soul mate. “

I totally agree with this.  Yes a good foundation of a relationship is being on the same ground but it doesn’t necessarily mean that when you like the same things that will be a guarantee that everything will be the best.

 

  • When Summer said, “I’ve never told anybody that before.”

People tend to share things to those whom they trust but still that doesn’t mean that you’re in a romantic relationship.  It doesn’t always have to be romantic at times it is more of friendship.

  • Tom said, “Look, we don’t have to put a label on it. That’s fine. I get it. But, you know, I just… I need some consistency.”

This is what I really hated about my situation, we agreed to have fun and I truly believed that we are.  Or I thought so.  Then suddenly, consistency faltered, things changed.  I guess I was really wrong to enter into a relationship that we can’t even label.  This set-up will only last for few weeks but not for a lifetime.  Not that I’m looking for one right there and then.  But I just want something I deserve.  Something that’s clear and vivid but what’s really frustrating is when you’re already agreed to something that you’re not really into and started taking the risk then he changes his mind.

  • Tom said these lines, “People buy cards ’cause they can’t say how they feel, or they’re afraid to. We provide the service that lets them off the hook. People should be able to say how they feel – how they really feel – not, you know, some words that some strangers put in their mouths.”

This isn’t my problem, one thing that I am sure I am capable of is telling the truth and how I am feeling towards someone.  But my bigger problem is, I am afraid to ask because I am afraid to hear the things that I don’t want to hear and will destroy the illusions of the past.

  • Lastly this conversation between Tom and Summer,

Summer: I woke up one morning and I just knew.
Tom: Knew what?
Summer: What I was never sure of with you.

This really bothered me a lot.  I have imagined myself being Tom and he’s Summer and after seeing this conversation for the second time, I’ve told myself, I can’t let myself to be in the same situation.  Yeah, I have to admit, I know that he wasn’t into me like I am into him.  I am passed over that stage and it would be stupid of me if I’d continue to see him despite of that.  I just can’t imagine myself hearing this from him so before that time comes, I’ve ended it.

In summary, this movie has taught me a lot.  It has opened my eyes from my mistakes from this so-called risk that I recently made.  One, the leap of faith, I feel in love.  I became vulnerable.  Two, I have overanalyzed some things when in fact, what we have agreed on is just to have some fun.  It’s too tricky, I guess.  Third, it wasn’t meant to be and when it isn’t meant to be, one has to move on and find another one.  Fourth, there are plenty fish out in the sea and in time, I’ll cross the path where my other half is.  Lastly, one day it will happen.  The day will come when I will wake up and knew what I was unsure of today is right there in front of me.

 

Ending this post with Tom’s dancing to Hall & Oates “You Make My Dreams”.


 

