I love traveling, going to the beach, doing crazy things once in a while.  I am adventurous and I’d try everything once.  These are the reasons that I’ve considered when I was researching for a camera.

My first and only requirement was it should be an underwater camera for the reason that I’ll try my best to do scuba diving this year and I’d been planning this since 2003.  The first thing that came to my mind and was the recommended camera by almost all people that I know was the Canon D-10 unfortunately it wasn’t available since December 2009.

Since I was visiting my family in the US I’ve decided to defer my plans and look for the camera later on.  Then one day I was just walking with a friend in Megamall and saw Olympus’ Stylus Tough 6020 and 8010.  Then the birth of my other requirement which is it should be shock proof and crash proof.  If you know me well, I am probably one of the clumsiest people in the whole world.  I am a dropper.  I’d probably drop a gadget after buying it and I’d scratch it after a day or two and I’m not kidding.  Yes, it is also not a good idea to lend me your gadget.  Ha-ha! Not really, I’m just kidding I can take care of it, I can also be careful at times. (You see I need to do this disclaimer.)

Anyway to make the story short, this is what I’ve discovered about Olympus Stylus tough 8010:

  • WATERPROOF

A revolutionary system of waterproof seals and gaskets keeps water out so you can take pictures as deep as 33 feet underwater. 

  • SHOCKPROOF

Durable metal body with an innovative shock-absorbing technology protects it from drops of up to 6.6 feet.

  • FREEZEPROOF

It’s Freeze proof down to 14°F/-10°C. Perfect for skiing, snowboarding, sledding and other winter fun, this camera is winterized to perform at below-freezing temperatures!

  • CRUSHPROOF

With its rugged body and reinforced LCD, the STYLUS TOUGH-8010 is designed to withstand up to 220 pounds of pressure so your camera and images are always protected.

 

Its specification and other features are: (You can also check it out here)

 

  • 14 MEGAPIXEL

An amazing 14 million pixels in the high-resolution CCD create superior image quality. Create poster-sized prints without losing a single detail.

  • 5X WIDE-ANGLE OPTICAL ZOOM

A 5x wide-angle optical zoom captures even more of the subject into each shot. The lens does not protrude from its body so it is further protected from harsh conditions.

  • 2.7″ LCD

This large 2.7″ LCD features an extra-wide viewing angle and anti-glare technology for easier composing and shooting even in direct, bright sunlight.

  • ONE-TOUCH HD MOVIE

With One-Touch HD Movie you can record widescreen, crystal clear HD movies (720p) right from your camera.

  • 2GB INTERNAL MEMORY

Store more photos and videos than ever before, right in your camera with 2GB of internal memory (usable memory is 1.63GB)

  • DUAL IMAGE STABILIZATION

Dual Image Stabilization combines Sensor-Shift Image Stabilization with high ISO sensitivity and fast shutter speeds so you can capture crisp, clear images even if the subject is moving.

  • TAP CONTROL

Operate picture playback, shadow adjustment, flash mode and more just by tapping the top, back and sides of the camera. Tap Control is ideal for underwater use or when wearing gloves.

 

So if you want to take it to the limit.   This is the go-anywhere, do-anything camera you’ve been waiting for. It snaps stunning photos — and records HD movies — wherever you are.   There will be no more problems with hurtling down a rugged trail, plunging underwater, balancing on your snowboard because the STYLUS TOUGH-8010 is engineered to thrive in any conditions.  To see the proof I have attached this video from YouTube. (Credits to Olympus’ website)

