I’ve heard about the movie from a friend but I forgot who exactly.  I’m a dog lover and almost everyone knows about it.  I had no qualms and I’d cry my heart out whenever I see dogs die in a movie.

Since, I’ve got nothing to do after watching my back logs of series to watch, I’ve decided to watch Hachiko.

Hachiko is an American adaptation of a Japanese tale about a loyal dog named Hachiko. This very special friend would accompany his master to the train station every day and return each afternoon to greet him after work. Sadly his master departs one day, passes away and never returns to the station. Hachiko faithfully returns to the same spot at the station the very next day, and every day for the next nine years to wait for his beloved master. (Source IMDb)

I chose to watch this movie because I wanted to clear my tear ducts and everyone said that it is a good movie.  But I didn’t realize that this will remind me of my Father and his dog, Tracy.

Tracy has turned 14 years old this year and my father left last September 2009.  She has not been separated with my father this long.  (8 months)  It was a big dilemma for him and he had a hard time.  They have been together every day since 1999 so that’s almost 10 years.  But he doesn’t have any choice; he had to go.  Since then Tracy lost the happiness on her face.  You’d notice that she’s longing for my father.  It’s truly heart breaking.

That’s what I’ve felt when I saw Hachiko and this movie.  You’d see his loyalty to his master.  He’d brace the storm, he’d sacrifice travel every day, and he’d stay up late just to wait for his return.

It reminded me of Tracy’s love to my father.  When he was still here, at night time no one can approach my father except for me.  She’s quick and she doesn’t trust anyone.  She won’t take that risk to lose my father.  Her love and loyalty is something that I don’t even know if I can offer to my own father.

If you’re a dog lover I advise you to watch this movie.  And when you do be prepared, you’d cry a bucket or two.  Hachiko will touch your heart and he’ll teach you about love, compassion and unyielding loyalty.

hachiko's real picture

Here’s the official trailer of the movie. Sob sob sob.




