Last night I accidentally dozed off early and needless to say it was expected that I’d wake up early today.  With that I decided to run since I really need to be fit and ready for a marathon as I plan to join one this year.  I actually slacked off and chatted online with a friend then I saw the sunshine from my window and was convinced to go out and chase the sun.

I immediately grabbed my shorts and looked for a pair of socks and put on my running shoes and brushed my teeth.  I went outside as my brother gave me puzzled look and I’m sure he was asking himself what has gotten into me and why I am awake early.

I made a playlist of Kelly Clarkson, Sara Bareilles, The Script and Train songs to perk me up while I’m running.  I’ve decided to go back with this routine on weekends at least.  Thinking of the things I have enjoyed before and sorting it out on my mind so I’d embrace it back in my life.

As I was doing the usual training, I started with 5 minutes of walking as preparatory to the alternates of 90-second walk and 60-second run for at least 45 minutes.  I skipped thru tracks one after the other until I find one that I liked.  Then voila I came across The Script’s Before the Worst and listened to it for more than once.

The song struck me and made me think.  The song explains what I actually want.  I want a closure to everything before anything else, before I actually start moving on.  I usually end up friends with my exs well that’s the dream at least and that has been with all of them.  (Well, I don’t have actually lots of them)  I don’t want to run into them feeling awkward.  It’s like a damage control.  I don’t want us to end up hurting each other in the long run.  I hate fights, I hate “parinigs” besides I am the kind of person who can handle things and I’d rather take it directly.  I’m not a mind reader and I believe that cooler heads prevail and win.

I don’t actually know if I have matured through time or is it because I’m also tired of it.  When I decided to run again, I told myself that I’d go back to the old routine.  After hearing this song and learning about it, I begin to ask myself… Is being heart broken and moving on part of the routine?  I hope not.

It’s been a while since the two of us talked
About a week since the day that you walked
Knowing things would never be the same
With your empty heart and mine full of pain

So explain to me how it came to this
Take it back to the night we kissed
It was Dublin city on a Friday night
With vodkas and coke, I was getting insomniac

We were sitting with our backs against the world
Saying things that we thought but never heard
Oh, who would’ve thought it would end up like this

But everything we talked about is gone
And the only chance we have of moving on
Was trying to take it back before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decided it’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try and take it back before it all went wrong

There was a time that we’d stay up all night
Best friends, yeah talking ’til the daylight
Took the joys alongside the pain
With not much to lose but so much to gain

Are you hearing me? ‘Cause I don’t wanna miss
That you would drift on memory bliss
It was Grafton street on a rainy night
I was down on one knee and you were mine for life

We were thinking we would never be apart
With your name tattooed across my heart
Oh, who would’ve thought it would end up like this

But everything we talked about is gone
And the only chance we have of moving on
Was trying to take it back before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decided it’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try and take it back before it all went wrong

If the clouds don’t clear
Then we’ll rise above it, we’ll rise above it
Heaven’s gate is so near, come walk with me through
Just like we used to, just like we used to, yeah, yeah

Let’s take it back before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decide it’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try to take it back before it all went wrong
Let’s try and take it back before it all went wrong


