I just finished watching the 2nd season of Avatar: The Last Airbender and I really liked it.  I may be old to enjoy cartoons but I’m not ashamed of it.  This is actually my 2nd post as I have promised to make a post about the Book of Earth.

Spoiler alert! This is a brief summary of the whole season.

General Iroh and Prince Zuko were declared fugitives as they have somehow helped the defeat of the Fire Nation’s invasion of Northern Water Tribe during the Book of Water.  And after that defeat, Aang together with Katara and Sokka (Team Avatar along with Appa and Momo) continued their journey in search of an Earth bender guru that gave birth to the very interesting character of Toph, more famous with the name of the blind bandit.  Aang mastered water and earth bending in this book.  The book focused on the chase to catch Team Avatar by the newly introduced characters Princess Azula, the evil sister of Prince Zuko, daughter of the Fire Lord and her two other friends Mai and Ty Lee.

The season ended with the fall of Ba Sing Se, the Impenetrable City to the Fire nation after the evil Princess Azula plotted a coup d’état against the Earth King with the help of Dai Li.  The encounter between the Avatar Team and Fire Nation was really intense at the season finale.  Azula persuaded Zuko to help her fight the Aang and while Aang was trying to reach for his last Chakra to take full control of the Avatar state he was attacked by Azula’s lightning that almost killed Aang.  The group was left with no choice but to escape and save the Avatar.  Katara used the water from the North pole temple and saved Aang.

I really love how the writer made the plot.  I like how they’ve put realistic touch and maintained a balance by showing defeat on the good side.  For me, it made sense to show that even the Avatar can be defeated.  Besides, the story has a third book and I have started watching it, the Book of Fire.

My personal favorite part of the story was about the Chakras.  Aang was helped by Guru to complete the 7 Chakras so he’d be able to control the Avatar state.  I’d just like to share what the story has discussed.  To wit here are the seven Chakras:

The first chakra is the Earth Chakra, located at the base of the spine. It deals with Survival, and is blocked by Fear.

The second chakra is the Water Chakra, which deals with Pleasure, and is blocked by Guilt.

Third is the Fire Chakra, which is located in the stomach. Dealing with Willpower, the Fire Chakra is blocked by shame.

Fourth chakra is located in the heart, this chakra deals with Love, and is blocked by Grief.

The fifth Chakra is the Sound Chakra, and is located in the throat. It deals with Truth, and is blocked by the Lies we tell ourselves.

Located in the center of the forehead, the sixth Chakra of Light is responsible for Insight, and is blocked by Illusions. The greatest Illusion is that of Separation: Things you think are separate and different are actually one and the same.

Seventh Chakra, the last, called the Thought Chakra, it is located at the crown of the head, and deals with Cosmic Energy, and is blocked by earthly attachment.

Unfortunately, Aang wasn’t able to complete the 7 Chakras now he can control and go back to Avatar state.  How can he still defeat the Fire Lord now?  Can he still restore the balance between the physical and the spirit worlds?  I’d better stop writing now and continue watching the last season then I’ll spoil what happened to the last season. Ha-ha!


By the way, I have always been amazed on people who have anime crushes until I find myself doing the same thing.  I like Prince Zuko; he’s cute, insensitive, bad and evil, my kind of man. Ha-ha!

