I’ve finally finished the last season of Avatar: The Last Airbender and I have to admit I was really hooked.  I’ll miss the funny antics of Sokka and I’ll miss seeing Zuko.  I just wish that I’ll meet a Zuko-like man in this lifetime. Ha-ha!

This is why I loved the series.  I loved how the plot focused on finding your own purpose and choosing between right and wrong. It discussed about Prince Zuko’s struggle about finding his own purpose which will leave you asking what if this will go against the right and lean towards choosing the wrong.

He tried in the past three years to run after and search for the avatar just to please his father, Fire Lord Ozai.  He tried to believe that it was his purpose to capture the avatar to give the fire nation and the fire lord the guarantee to rule the world.  As it is their role and purpose to spread and share greatness across all nations.  But in reality he is going against the destiny of the Avatar to restore balance among men and between the physical and spirit world.

It also came to me as a surprise that the very reason why Zuko’s struggling about the right and wrong was not only because it was obvious that war isn’t the answer but because he is the grandson of Avatar Roku (good) and Fire Lord Sozin (evil).

His realization to embrace his own destiny and turn against his own father marked a twist in the story though I had to admit that it wasn’t that surprising.  I had it all figured out during the first season of the series.  As the story have molded the character of Zuko as someone who is likely to do the right thing. It was proven several times. (Oh sorry I’m a little biased about Prince Zuko you know that I have my eyes set on him and this is the very reason why)

Anyway, as expected the Fire Lord didn’t succeed and Avatar Aang save the world as he struggled against his own purpose of saving and restoring balance by killing or eliminating the Fire Lord (you see how consistent the plot was when it has both developed the main premise for the two characters).  And in the end what the Avatar did is he have taken Ozai’s fire bending like in the movie the Craft when Sarah bound Nancy to prevent her from making dangerous spells.  (I just really love that move that I had to mention it besides it’s the same concept.)

What really frustrated me was when the scene where Prince Zuko visited the Fire Lord and asked about his mother.  It was left hanging and unanswered, the story also failed to explain what happened to her sister Princess Azula.

With this disappointment I searched for answers on the net and found out that there will be an Avatar spin-off.  Read it here care of TV.com.

I just hope that the spin-off with the tentative title The Legend of Korra will be as entertaining as the The Avatar: The Last Airbender.

