Last Friday, I was reminded how much I love Travis’ Why Does It Always Rain on Me when my favorite radio show in the morning played it.  I panicked a little bit upon hearing it because this is one of the few songs that I love listening to but haven’t included them yet in my music library since I bought my new IPod.  I even asked friends if it was a new song in the play list since by definition it would fall under the riot songs that are only played during Wednesdays but after making sense and my very panicky mood died down, I’ve realized that it was just a recurrent song.

Anyway, you’d probably been asking yourself, “Why on earth will someone like a song like this?”  Well, I’m weird, dramatic and sentimental that way.  There was even a time that I love hearing break up songs just for the kick of it.  You see the song’s sentiment reflects what I’m undergoing right now. 

I really love the sun.  I am a sun worshipper especially when I’m on the beach.  I’m a morning person.  My mind can really think as early as 5 am.  And taking away the sunshine is like being away without friends.  Life would be nothing and worthless.  It seems incomplete waking up in the morning without the sun.  And while writing this, I think I have just confused myself because I also love the rain.  It’s just that rain brings me gloom and sadness.  Sunshine complements my perky attitude.

And unfortunately this is what I’ve been feeling lately.  I’m trying to avoid someone dear to me and it’s just killing me.  I’ve just covered my own sunshine with rain drops literally and figuratively.  I’m trying my best to overcome this feeling rather than going through another emotional roller coaster ride with this person.  Yes, you have read it right I’m using my mind over my heart.  I’m trying my best to be brave and firm with my decision and this I may say is one the hardest decisions I’ve ever made in months.

I’m doing this because unlike Travis I don’t believe that it is because he lied when he was seventeen and that’s the reason why it has been raining on him incessantly.  I think I know why it has been recurring; maybe it is because he never learns from the previous mistakes.  He wasn’t able to understand and rectify them. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I have just solved my problems by making this bold decision but I think this is what life has been trying to tell me.  That no matter how hard my decision is I’d be the one who’d benefit from it.  It’s about time to break the cycle and be brave enough to face this decision before another rainy day comes and floods my way.

 

“Sunny days
where have you gone?
I get the strangest feeling you belong.
Why does it always rain on me?
Is it because I lied when I was seventeen?
Why does it always rain on me?
Even when the sun is shining
I can’t avoid the lightning
Oh, where did the blue skies go?

 

 

