I treat friends like they are my siblings.  I am very protective, loving and caring.  Others tell me that I’m nurturing and some say that I’m the key that holds a group together.  Back then, I find it silly when I get these comments because I just love them that’s why I’m doing that.

I’m someone who’s most likely to fight for a friend in need.  I’d cross mountains if need be.  Lately, I’ve liked Bruno Mars’ Count on Me; it is a good friends’ song.  I agree with each line of the song.  It is like he wrote it so I’d hear how dedicated as a friend I can be.

But unfortunately, I’ve been having some problems with the inner me lately.  I think I have become needy.

Here’s the inside story, I’m the 2nd to the youngest in the family but I grew up as a mature and assertive kid if not the most among the kids.  I have always been tasked to take care of my siblings’ needs and as well as our family’s.  And I think that was the reason why I have been so nurturing.

This is where the problem is coming from, it’s not that I’m tired of taking care of people it is more of missing the feeling of being taken care of.

I’d like to borrow these lines from Bruno Mars’ song,

“You can count on me like one, two, three
I’ll be there and I know when I need it
I can count on you like four, three, two
And you’ll be there ’cause that’s what friends
Are supposed to do, oh yeah, ooh, ooh”

I still find it as a grey area because I don’t exactly believe 100% in expecting something in return because it’s like putting a price on your relationship as friends but I’m acting like it and that’s really disappointing.  Actually, I’m not like this to all but to some friends only and I think I have even ended a good relationship with someone very important to me because of my issues.  I guess this is where the “I can count on you” lines are applicable to me, I may not be literally in dire need of help but I’m definitely a crazy man and I need understanding.

Anyway, I’m posting two videos of Bruno Mars’ song Count on Me, listen to it and I’m sure this will be another hit song from him.

