Sara Bareilles’ Gravity is one of the most played songs in my Ipod so I have decided to write about it.  I’m a lyrics person I just love reading the lyrics and analyzing what it means.  But I have to say the song must have a catchy tune first.  And in this case, Sara’s voice, its lyrics and melody just make me down and down in a good way.  Maybe, this is one of my morbid guilty pleasures I don’t know.

And most of the time I’d get to quote a line or two from a song and when I was re-reading the lyrics while it is being played I just found myself undecided.  Every stanza and line is strong and it has made a certain impact on me that I can’t explain.  Well, I guess because I have been down and every line seems to be a perfect description of me.

Today, I can only think of someone that reminds me of this song and perhaps it is because of the last few lines.  Here it goes,

“But you’re neither friend nor foe

Though I can’t seem to let you go

The one thing that I still know

Is that you’re keeping me down

You’re keeping me down

You’re on to me, on to me and all over

Something always brings me back to you”

 

But unlike this song I think I have realized that he shouldn’t be keeping me down.  I have been down, brushed him off and something always brings me back to him… and that is love.  But I have just decided that I should be strong and I need to move on.  I need to be distant because it will only be harder for me if I’ll let him from keeping me down.  See what realizations I get from just listening to songs.  This is why I love music and why I love this song.

 

I have posted the link of the video, check it out.

