I got curious of Charlotte York of the Sex and the City when my friends from twitter told me that I am like her in so many ways.  I forced myself to watch the show so I’d understand what they have been talking about.  At first, I thought I was more of Miranda Hobbes and definitely not a Carrie Bradshaw or Samantha Jones.  But as I was watching the show episodes after episodes then I was able to unravel who Charlotte York is.

And based on the show’s profile: Charlotte York

“She works in an art gallery and has had a conventional Connecticut upbringing. She is the most optimistic of the group, the one who places the most emphasis on emotional love as opposed to lust, and is a true romantic; always searching for her “knight in shining armor.” She scoffs at the lewder, more libertine antics of her friends (primarily Samantha), presenting a more traditional attitude about relationships, usually based on “the rules” of love and dating. Despite her traditional outlook, she has been known to make concessions (while married) that even surprise her more sexually liberated girlfriends.   During the series, it is also revealed that Charlotte was voted homecoming queen, prom queen, “most popular,” student body president, and track team captain, and was active as a cheerleader and teen model. 

Charlotte is viewed by some to be the most naive of the four characters, often showing signs of belief in the old-fashioned, “love conquers all” notion. This type of outlook has even earned her the nickname “Park Avenue Pollyanna,” coined by Carrie Bradshaw in narrations. Yet, her friends are sometimes envious and even in awe of her overall optimism on love and life, leading Carrie to dedicate her book to Charlotte. Charlotte is fiercely optimistic, although often anxious and paranoid that nothing will go right. She also possesses a soft personality towards her friends, always “being there” for them.” (Credits to Wikipedia.org)

These are some of the things Charlotte and I share (at least in my opinion and my friends, too):

1.       We both abide by “the rules” – Well, I actually hate rules but I couldn’t just break them

2.       We both put more emphasis on emotional love – I could be a nun believe me

3.       We sort of the same for being popular – I am bitchy most of the time but I am weirdly popular and loved this I can’t seem to understand maybe my bubbly personality somehow overshadows the former (being bitchy)

I am still on the 2nd season and so far I’m getting why my friends think that I am more of Charlotte.  I just wish that people would think that I also have her class and wits.  I really find her funny as I find myself silly.  There are a couple times that I gasped and laughed because I totally found myself in her.   So I guess I have to rest my case, I’m officially convinced that I’m Charlotte in every single way.

 

