There are certain traditions that I want and try to follow to welcome and celebrate my dooms day.  Yes you’ve read it right “dooms day”.  Actually I have used this word since high school but for a time I actually used the right word.  Then I just recently decided that calling it dooms day is funnier and more like me, sarcastic and morbid.

Anyway, my first tradition is to eat a cheesecake to celebrate another year, year of happiness.  I’ve fallen in love with cheesecakes when I’ve tasted then Coney Island’s Blueberry Cheesecake ice cream and since 1999 I never failed to eat a cheesecake on the day or the week.

My second and last tradition is I want to spend it outside the metro and if possible it must be at the beach.  I’ve been working for almost 10 years and for almost 7 years straight I have worked during that day since it falls on post-submission of reports.  My previous work assignments stopped me from enjoying the actual day and spending it outside.  So when I had the chance I made it as part of the tradition.

Last year I’ve spent it with someone but this year is more fulfilling and fun, I’ve done it alone.  I actually planned to spend it alone but I asked some friends who’d most probably go.  Funny thing is when I asked them if they wanted to go with me, I told them that I really want to be alone and it’s okay to say no and regardless of their answers I’m pushing it through.  Fortunately, nobody said yes.

I don’t know if I’m really weird but I think I just want to spend a time alone.  I want to validate the truth that I can be alone and have fun.  I want to be adventurous.  I want to get out of the box.  I want peace. I want to celebrate my life embracing the remote possibility that I can be alone from today until I die.  Oops, see no matter how hard I try to put good words here, I really tend to be morbid.

Anyway, I’ll share the details and my realization when this trip ends.  For now, I’m sharing Sheryl Crow’s Soak up the Sun this is like my beach song.


 

