This year I’ve decided to balance everything or at least I’ll try. By balance I mean, I’ll try to listen to music, watch movies, write a post and read books. With the 1st three items, I don’t have a problem I get to listen to music in a minimum of 10 hours a day, I try to watch a movie at least once a week and I write 5 blog posts on the average in a month.  And my worst among these media is reading. I don’t really like reading long articles may it be an email, news; name it I won’t probably read it.

But my recent travel paved the way for me to finish a book. It made me realize what I was missing. There’s a different kind joy about reading not to mention that it’s fulfilling, too. You’ll get to improve your vocabulary and learn new words as well. Aside from that, what I really love with reading is the power of the mind to travel and imagine the situation with no limits. It’ll bring you to places and traverse a world where everything is possible.

Anyway, let me  go back to the book that I’ve read it was Neil Gaiman’s Coraline. I first saw the movie by Henry Selick and I loved it. My friend Erna lent me her book so I could appreciate Gaiman’s novel. At first, I wasn’t really sure if there’s a need for me to read that aside from the reasons I stated above. I just find it a waste of time since I was able to see the movie and it was animated so I thought there wouldn’t be any difference. Since it is animation all I thought was there wouldn’t be any alterations with the novel because there’s no casting constraint and everything is more controllable unlike if it was made as real deal movie. But I was mistaken.

There were things in the movie but weren’t part of the book like Wybie, Wybie’s grandmother and the doll. And vice versa, there were things in the book but weren’t captured in the movie like when Coraline went to the store by herself and bought limeade and apples when her parents were kidnapped. Another is when Coraline got a box of chocolates in the theatre where Spink and Forcible performed. Lastly, when the Other Father was punished for revealing too much information and Coraline found him locked in the cellar and ends up attacking her.

Now let’s go to the story and why I liked it. The movie can be best summarized by its tagline “Be careful of what you wish for”. The story was about Coraline’s longing for a Stepford-like family, a world near to being perfect. Where her mother could cook a real meal and her father could take a time off his work and find time for his family. Doesn’t sound too much for me, in fact, I think everyone would actually want that. But in the story, Coraline’s boredom led her to discover a different parallel world in which there is an Other Mother and Other Father who are tailored-fit images of what she wants but there was something unusual with the almost perfect world, her other parents have buttons for their eyes.

For me, what the story was trying to tell me was to be satisfied with what you have. There’s no such thing as a perfect family and world. To quote Coraline from the book, “What kind of fun would it be if I just got whatever I wanted?” I don’t see the point in living and aspiring for perfection aside from the fact that it doesn’t exist, it’s actually boring. You wouldn’t appreciate happiness when you haven’t been lonely. There’s a purpose for everything. The pain, the negative things in our lives, the imperfection, it gives a whole different meaning to happiness, joy and fulfillment. It makes these things meaningful and it gives true value to life.

Yes, it’s best if you get the things that you want when you want it but when you do, the notch gets higher and higher. There’s no stopping to human’s desire. It has no end, it’s limitless, and it’s never satisfied. To which I go back to my main point again, life isn’t about being happy when everything is perfect, it’s about deciding to see life beyond the imperfections.

Coraline is a disturbing and haunting movie for kids, the book is more horrific. Gaiman is a genius and Selick was able to give justice to his work. I’m posting a YouTube link of the trailer. If you’ll have a chance to watch the movie, I strongly suggest that you read the book, too or vice versa.



