Finally I’ve found the news about Supernatural’s renewal for another season.  I can’t believe that Dean and Sam has been part of my life for 6 years and it’ll be 7 next year.

Based on what I’ve read, Supernatural is one of the most lucrative franchises on television. With a series of Supernatural novels from HarperCollins, a mini-series of Supernatural comic books from Wildstorm (DC Comics), a pen & paper role-playing game, trading cards, shirts, posters, calendars, figurines and lately,  a Japanese anime spin-off series.

I’m really happy with this news but I hope that season 7 will have heavier and meatier plot than season 6.  I’m quite disappointed with how the story revolved with the current season.  I find the plot all over the place and it lacked continuity and coherence.  I wasn’t satisfied not until episode 18th came up.  I was actually afraid that the show would end horrendously.

Anyway, I’m keeping my hopes up and with the current episodes’ story, I’m thinking positive about it.  Plus, I’ve just noticed recently that Misha Collins is a regular of the show already.  And I think, season 7 will be discussing more of Castiel.

For those who are not a fan of the show, Castiel is the angel that first appeared in the fourth season, and is used to introduce the theme of Christian mythology to the series.  In the series, Castiel brings Dean Winchester back from Hell, and helps Dean and his brother Sam in their battles with various demons and angels. As an angel, he possesses a number of superhuman abilities, including the ability to kill demons with his touch.  Initially, the character demonstrates little emotion, though his interactions with Dean have humanized him to a degree.

Unlike a stereotypical portrayal of television angels, Castiel does not help people, and is willing to kill innocents if needed. Collins originally read for the part of a demon, as series creator Eric Kripke did not want fans to find out that angels were being introduced to the series.  Critics and fans have responded favorably to the character. In response, the show’s creators expanded the role in the series. Castiel is older than he seems having remembered how evolution began but was stopped by Raphael as he was going to step on a fish that crawled on land and other events in human history. (credits from Wikipedia)

With this being said, I think there’s a lot of room for Castiel’s story in the series especially when the show have recently introduced the storyline of Castiel being in cahoots with Crowley.  Who wouldn’t be thrilled to find more about it?  I just hope that season 6 will end with a bang and a great cliffhanger.  Never mind if it’ll give me sleepless nights just as long as it’ll give the show a better ratings and following.  So for all the Supernatural fanatics out there, I guess our hunting days aren’t over yet.

