With all the news about the end of the world last week, I’ve realized how indifferent I am about the topic.  I am a firm believer of seizing the day and that makes me be at peace with the idea of death.  Many have considered it morbid while some doubted my weird point of view.  But, I just think that I’ve lived my life at the fullest and I try to enjoy everything that comes my way.  I try my best not to expect anything not only to be satisfied but to have less chances of frustration as well.

 

Anyway, I think another reason is because I loved watching Six Feet Under.  Six Feet Under is an American drama television series created and produced by Alan Ball. It premiered on the premium cable network HBO, spanning five seasons with 63 episodes. The show revolves around members of the Fisher family, who run their funeral home in Los Angeles, and their friends and lovers. The series traces these characters’ lives over the course of five years. The ensemble drama stars Peter Krause, Michael C. Hall, Frances Conroy, Lauren Ambrose, Freddy Rodriguez, Mathew St. Patrick and Rachel Griffiths as the show’s seven central characters. (credits to wikipedia.org)

 

Six Feet Under received widespread critical acclaim, particularly for its writing and acting, and consistently drew high ratings for the HBO network. Six Feet Under has frequently been described by critics as one of the greatest television series of all time as well as having one of the greatest series finales of all time. (credits to wikipedia.org)

 

On one level, the show is a conventional family drama, dealing with issues such as interpersonal relationships, infidelity, and religion. At the same time, it is a show distinguished by its unblinking focus on the topic of death. Each episode begins with a death – anything from drowning or heart attack to sudden infant death syndrome – and that death usually sets the tone for each episode, allowing the characters to reflect on their current fortunes and misfortunes in a way that is illuminated by the death and its aftermath. The show also has a strong dosage of dark humor and surrealism running throughout. (credits to wikipedia.org)

 

Aside from the good and strong plot, what I loved with the show is the use of characters having an imaginary conversation with the deceased.  For example, Nate, David, and Federico sometimes “converse” with the person who died at the beginning of the episode, while they are being embalmed or planning or during the funeral. The show is trying to capture real life by representing one character’s internal dialogue by exposing it as an external conversation which is like a concept of conscience and role playing of our subconscious mind.

 

To wit an example of this conversation is Season Four Finale Episode’s last scene when David woke up in the morning and went down and had this conversation with his father.

 

Nathaniel Sr.: You aren’t even grateful, are you?

David: Grateful? For the worst fucking experience of my life?

Nathaniel Sr..: You hang onto your pain like it means something, like it’s worth something. Well, let me tell ‘ya, it’s not worth shit. Let it go. Infinite possibilities, and all he can do is whine.

David: Well, what am I supposed to do?

Nathaniel Sr.: What do you think? You can do anything, you lucky bastard, you’re alive! What’s a little pain compared to that?

David: It can’t be that simple.

Nathaniel Sr.: [putting his arm around David and pulling him closer] What if it is?

The series opened my eyes to see life in a different perspective.  Embracing the fact that death is inevitable instilling in my mind that I should live each day as if it was my last day on earth.

 

I have yet to finish the series and I’m down to the last 9 episodes.  I can’t wait to see the ending since 2 of my friends who have followed the show as well said that it is probably one of the best series ever made and has the best season finale ever.

 

