I am not a fan of James Blunt but I really liked his first single under his album Some Kind of Trouble which is entitled Stay the Night.  So when I was browsing thru Billboard’s list of albums for 2011, I was reminded of the album so I took my time to listen to the whole album and track number 4 made its mark.  I don’t know what’s with sad lyrics, saying good bye and breaking up that really appeals my taste in music.  Maybe, this is one sentiment that I can totally relate with?  Is it because I’m too used to of being left behind?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not feeling emotional right now by just saying these words.  I’m just stating a fact.  I’m just too comfortable to say it out loud and throwing out these words out in the universe because I simply don’t care if I’d look like vulnerable to some people.  Now, I think I sound jaded by just saying that.

Anyway, I think it’s about time that I write about the song.  Track #4 is So Far Gone, the tempo is a little bit upbeat for a song with a sentiment about breaking up, letting go and giving up.  I can’t really explain why I liked it.  I just did.  Maybe, I was trying to pressure myself to discover a new song to share with friends.  I just want to have a song that would make my friends say, “Oh I first heard it because of you and I liked it” but only because I want to do something for the world, for the music industry just that, not for anything else.

Obviously the song is talking about a relationship that feels like it’s over, but the other party isn’t saying it. And he’s saying that they both know it but too afraid to admit to each other that it’s not working out.  The love was put into question since it cannot be shown by both sides.  They’re too tired of fighting for it and fighting each other. Maybe because it’s hard to let go but being in a relationship with nothing makes it pointless to stay together.  It’s really sad to be in a situation like that because so far gone means the love has left the parties long before they have decided to end it.

Doing this post made me realize that it is the song’s courage and bravery that made me love the song. So I quote these lines, “So I’ll say what you won’t say/ and I’ll take the blame if it is for your sake/ No turning back on what you can’t save/ so far gone/ we’re so far gone.” 

I can just feel how hard it is to let go of something you love and something you can’t save anymore.  It takes a lot of courage to admit and embrace the reality that bites.  To take the higher ground and stop pretending that the love that has been so far gone is yet to be given up.

