What are one’s expectations after a decade of being employed?

Most answers would probably be to receive incentives in monetary form or a loyalty award.  And as I was writing this piece, I’ve realized that I don’t have one.  I didn’t even expect that I’d last this long in the company besides; our company gives out loyalty award to those who have reached 20 years in service so thinking of it is already out of the scene.

Anyway, I was supposed to write this post last August 17 to commemorate my 10th year anniversary in the company to help me look back on the years of ups and downs.  Now, I’ll try to remember the things I’ve gone thru the years.

This is my first and only company that I’ve worked for but I’ve been to three different groups.  Our company has a group of companies and I was lucky to be part of the 3 groups. 

My first work and group was the best that I’ve belonged to.  The first 4 years was simply the best and if my 2nd boss didn’t leave and the group still exists, I won’t probably have left the group.

2001 – 2004 were the best years in terms of work assignments and promotion.  2001 was the year that I was hired as a project based employee and luckily management saw what I can offer and was made to join the roster of regular employees in 2002.  From 2001 – 2003, I was assigned to three different jobs and I was really happy with the movements as it somehow validated how management appreciated and saw my potential.  In my 1st 4 years, I was promoted 3 times but unfortunately, my last upgrade in 2005 was my last in my years of service.  But, I have quite expected it since that my job level is quite high and the next logical level for me would be a manager.  And believe me, I’m not complaining and I don’t want to be a manager.

2005 was my worst year.  Let’s skip it.  Work and personal life were screwed up.  No point of including it in this post. Ha-ha!  Let’s just say that it was the year when I almost quit my job.  Thanks to my father and I was able to keep my job and my sanity as well.

2006 was the year I left the perfect company for a more challenging work but less compensated.  In terms of career growth and expertise, 2006 – 2008 were the best.  These are the years were I’ve learned how to do financial studies, be an expert (at least in my definition) and learned a lot of excel tips & tricks.  This is also when I’ve realized what field I’m good at which is budget and planning.  It will be the line of work I’d always come back to. 

2008 was the year that I’ve decided that I had to learn and yearn for more.  I was too tired (then) of working for long hours and not getting paid well.  It was a big move since I transferred to a whole new line of work where there are no numbers and only words.  It felt like going inside a dark room blind-folded but being me, I took the risk because that’s what life is, taking challenges and conquering fear.

And today, after 3 long years and nearing my 4th year in this work, I guess, I have accepted the fact that I have to like my work.  There are days that I do but there are days that I don’t.  I just don’t feel that I’m cut out for this kind of work.  I’ve followed too much rules in my life and working to make and implement rules has taken its toll on me.  And aside from that, I hate how I’m being managed.

Anyway, I’m staying away from that side of the story (again) as it only deserves to be mentioned just to make everything real.    

Bottom line is there’s no such thing as a perfect world.  There’s no truth that everything is going to be an easy ride may it be in work and as well as in life.  Going thru bumps from time to time makes life more meaningful and it breaks monotony.  And the actual challenge is how well we are going to cross and brave the storm. 

Looking back thru the years, the decade that has gone by it only gives me a happy feeling and a certain level of satisfaction and achievement.  I may not have received anything tangible but I have gained a lot of intangible things… memories that I will always treasure and remind me how I’ve faced my challenges at work gracefully and hopefully I can do that in my life, too.

Cheers to another decade!

