I just received an e-mail from a friend asking me 5 questions.  She’s in the crossroads right now I think and she needs an upper to motivate her and stop her from quitting her job.  She just told me that I should just pretend that I’m being interviewed so despite my busy schedule yesterday I answered her questions. 

1.  Do you consider yourself a successful person already? How? and Why?  Actually this is a very hard question.  Success depends on your goals and as far as career is concerned I didn’t put any.  I just went with the flow.  I’ve learned a lot from the years that I’ve worked and if this will be the basis, I can say that I am.  I don’t believe that success must be measured by net worth; I believe that intangible things such as working attitude and discipline weighs more than the financial things.

 2.  In your stay with the company? Was there a time that you consider resigning? What motivates you to stay? Yes.  I almost resigned twice.  I got a job in retail waiting for me back in 2008.  The offer was good but I chose to stay because of the benefits, our company has one of the best retirement packages in the Philippines.  I chose job security and security of tenure as my main motivators.  I just can’t let go of the number of years in service.  I have always dreamed of getting my 20 yrs in service award. 

3.  Please tell me a little about your family background.  I grew up in a family of liberated and very opinionated people.  My parents’ style of upbringing is very westernized.  We are highly encouraged to express our opinions as early as we can talk.  We were taught to be disciplined in everything especially managing our finances.  Would you believe that I started to budget my own allowance in school at the very early age of 8.

4.  What traits you hate most from your colleagues? What are the traits you like most from them?  I hate colleagues who are lazy.  I love those who are easy to work with, those who think and challenge my work in a very constructive way.

5.  What is your most embarrassing moment(s) in your stay with the current company?  Most embarrassing?  I don’t easily get embarrassed.  I don’t think I’ve done something that I should be embarrassed of.

 

I’m not sure if I have helped her with my answers but whenever I’m in a crossroad I’d always try to think of it this way, there’s no such thing as perfect working place and boss in that matter.  If I have issues with my boss I always think of it as a management style issue and in that sense, I can’t argue with that and I’d always lose if I ever do.  There’s no point in fighting a battle if I know I’d lose.  If it’s about my surroundings, I’d always tell myself that I don’t need to be friends with everyone, I just have to accept the fact that we just need to co-exist with them harmoniously.  Staying positive is really hard but no one said that it can’t be done.  I guess, what I’m trying to say is if you want to keep your job don’t mind the people around you because you can’t control them, focus on something you can control which is yourself and keep a good working attitude.  Go to work every day, smile and bring it on!

