As a child I guess everyone was told that lying is a sin. Every culture and religion has a concept of punishment for the things we do wrong. The idea of right and wrong are inculcated at an early age to most or at least that was the environment I grew up with.

As I grew older I became fully aware that lying is a skill, it is actually an art of deceit. And based on observation, it is a trait that most intelligent people have.

But there’s also a way for you to wring the truth but the magnitude depends on how adept the liar is. It’s a skill against a skill.

And yesterday I was hardly hit by this realization about lies.

I just hate people who lie and when they’re caught they’d deny it. Not because of the lies per se but it is because of the undermining of my capacity to judge and ability to understand things. There is certain level of insult that’s not being said there.

This entry doesn’t mean to preach about honesty because I’m not the best person to advocate it. But what I’m telling is, if you happen to tell lies to people you consider a friend, you better be ready to acknowledge your fault when found and apologize to the grieved party once there is an opportunity.

It is a simple lesson on if you don’t tell lies you don’t have to worry about being caught. Just take the full responsibility as I believe in the true sense of justice and mercy.

