Finally after two and half years of waiting, Kelly Clarkson finally released her 5th studio album entitled Stronger.  I was actually excited not only because I’m a big fan but it’s also because of her debut single, “Mr. Know it All” sounds very different.  It’s bitchy and resentful with an upbeat sound that makes me want to walk in a catwalk like a model.  It really surprised me and I really loved it instantly so after hearing that I couldn’t expect less from the album.  I know that I’d be surprised and I really hoped that I would.  I couldn’t care less on some of the critics’ comments like it sounded a bit like Bruno Mars’ “Just the Way You Are”.   The song has more to it than just that, a defensive word that a true fan would utter, I guess.

But I’m not the kind of fan who’d follow and read news there is so I’d be that updated.  I also dislike listening and getting leaked songs because I know that she doesn’t want us to hear second-rate quality songs.  I just love her voice and songs and I’m the type who would line-up on a ticket booth just to see her perform live and buy the original record.

Then finally last Tuesday, I was able to hear the deluxe edition of her album.  I know and I’m not proud of it but I had to.  The record isn’t released here yet but once it hits the racks, I’d be the first to buy and that’s for sure.  The deluxe record included earlier hit and collaboration, “Don’t You Wanna Stay” which is a country song, seeing this from the track listing answered my earlier expectation.

And like what a true blue fan would do, I had listened to the album the whole day and enjoyed my favorite artist’s songs and voice.  The album was really good.  It showcased her talent, her voice.  Listening to it made me wish that I could fly to the US soon and in time for her album tour.  I want to hear her live and validate how she sounds like her record. 

The first three tracks were great and I intend to write about one of the songs on a later date.  Though I still think that Breakaway is still her best and still prefer the underrated My December album over this new one.  I just hope that this current album would get the critics’ approval.  I think this record is much better than her fourth which produced a couple of hit songs.

And talking about hits, the title track “What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger)” would certainly be a hit and I’m betting my money on this track.  The song is a true work of an artist coupled with a powerful voice that hits the spot and you would never go wrong with this one.  You’d love it instantly.  At least I did. 

I just love how strong the lyrics are from disproving one’s impression of your so-called breakdown to actually thanking them for paving the way for the new start and helping one see the need to think about the “me” and knowing that the end was actually just the beginning of a greater thing.

I really love the line, “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stand a little taller, doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone.”  I know that this really sounds bitter but that’s how it should be.   Sometimes we should let the aggressor realize that the hurt that they have caused us doesn’t make our lives stop but instead it fuels reborn, the realization that life doesn’t end when someone leaves us.

And that’s why I really loved the song because I believe her words.  People will always leave you and the good thing about it is you’d realize that you’re strong enough to survive without them in your life.  And for me there’s nothing wrong with being alone.  I’m a fighter and I believe that happiness is not equated with being in love or having someone.  Happiness is a choice that we embrace in our everyday life and for me that’s the real meaning of love. 

This is one of the reasons why I really love Kelly because I can totally relate with her songs.  After this post I still have to write about another favorite and that’s another story to read.  For now, I’m leaving you with the first single from her current album, Mr. Know It All and if you’ll have the chance to visit a record store don’t forget to grab her album because it’s a truly piece of art.

