With the disappointment on the outcome of 2010 American Idol and departure of judge Simon Cowell; I didn’t try to watch the season 10.  But this year I gave it a try, I’ve told myself that there’s nothing wrong with trying besides I’ve wanted to discover new artists for 2012.  I’ve just realized I didn’t get to discover new songs and artist for 2011. 

Funny thing is I actually didn’t watch the first few episodes which are the auditions.  I just listened to it while I was doing other stuff example; I’ve sorted puzzle pieces, wrote blog posts or listened while working from home that was the routine.  I thought that it was the best time to multi-task and it worked.  Came the Hollywood episodes then I started to put my attention to the show.

That was the time I started to come up with my artists to watch for.  And I’ve got at least 2 bets that I’d know would go straight to the 24.  One was Reed Grimm, I think he’s a Taylor Hicks incarnate.  Unfortunately, he didn’t make it to the final 12 which became 13. 

I actually hated having the final 13.  For me having an extra person compromised the actual concept of the show and what made it worst I think they’ve picked the wrong idols like Deandre and Jeremy. Ha-ha!

Anyway, what really made my AI viewing worth my time is the discovery of Phillip Phillips.  I have to admit his looks sealed the deal.  He reminds me of someone close to my heart.  Oops, enough of the sexy thoughts, back to writing the post. Ha-ha!

I’m hoping that he’d win the title but knowing my history the only bet I had that won was Carrie Underwood.  All my bets placed 2nd or 3rd.  I just hope that Phillip would break that curse.  What I really love about him is his individuality.  There’s no single song he performed that I actually recognized.  He made it his own.  Well, some of his songs are too old that I don’t really know but that’s beside the point.  What fears me is his idealism.  I know that he just wants to be there to share his talents but in a contest like American Idol where you get votes and up against artists, who are also good or even better, it pays to be out of your comfort zone and try something new and out-of-the-box that will totally leave the audience awed.  Good thing is he doesn’t sound cocky whenever he defends his song choice or fashion sense.  I just hope that he’d perform something that would overshadow the talent and performance of other idol hopefuls.

And lately I’m beginning to love Elise and Colton it’s more of a back up bets but I don’t think that they’d made it to the finale.  I’m just saying.  I really love the trio’s performance of Fleetwood Mac and Stevie Nicks’ performance 3 weeks ago.  I’d watch this clip at least once a day that’s how impressed I am with the performance.  Good thing I’ve found a high quality link in YouTube that I can share with you.  Enjoy!

I just really hope that he’d win.  For now that’s my wish for 2012 and if he makes it to the finale, I’d fly to LA. Just kidding (I wish!).

 

