“The man who never has money enough to pay his debts has too much of something else.”

An IOU (abbreviated from the phrase “I owe you”) is usually an informal document acknowledging debt. An IOU differs from a promissory note in that an IOU is not a negotiable instrument and does not specify repayment terms such as the time of repayment. IOUs usually specify the debtor, the amount owed, and sometimes the creditor. IOUs may be signed or carry distinguishing marks or designs to ensure authenticity.

And sometimes friends extend IOUs based on trust with no need for a document or proof of a promise to pay believing that nothing can come between them when the going gets tough and the value of one’s friendship is at stake.  Not to forget that friends help each other and they just do without any question.

That’s at least how I view and expect things to happen when friends enter into such an agreement.  I’m writing this post because I’m this kind of friend who would always be willing to help a friend in need especially if it’s in a financial aspect.  There’s no point in denying that I’m lucky to have been blessed with what I have but you should also know that it’s not the only reason why I am liquid.  Being and staying liquid requires true discipline and good management of resources.

But unfortunately the tides are not the same these days.  My financial situation is far from comparison a year ago.  It was time for me to make investments that I would benefit from in the future thus making me a less of a helping friend, I suppose, in far as getting involved is concerned.

And true enough I have felt this just recently.  I just hate the fact that I can’t help out someone like I used to do and worse is be put in a very awkward situation.  I guess when I say this I can speak for everyone else being a creditor-friend will never fail to put you in a very compromising situation.  And I think the debtor-friend should be at least sensitive enough to value his promise to pay when the due date comes and never take it against his creditor-friend when he asks for payment.

You know what really pisses me off is when your friend has the audacity to get mad at you and make you feel you’ve been put upon.  It is as if you don’t have the right to demand.  Sometimes it makes me wonder what kind of person would even do that.  There’s a certain level of pride that I could never fathom where they are getting it from.

I just hate the attitude not the actual person.  I know that they are not in a very good situation but it’s not a reason for someone to neglect propriety.  People should always remember that obligation requires a certain action of fulfillment and in this case, payment is the action.  And not to forget, demonstrating gratitude isn’t required but it’s more of the proper decorum that someone should exemplify.  Nothing beats to have a friend who knows how to respect you and never take advantage of your kindness.

